Marantz 2270 issue

derek244

Hello everyone! This is my first post here. I am a super novice in regards to the audio field. A couple of years ago, I started buying a few vintage pieces and at the same time got into some vinyl. I grew up in the 70's and 80's and I was feeling nostalgic I guess.

I was not fully prepared for the fact that everything I bought (even at top dollar) was going to be broken or break soon after using it. Duh. The stuff is old, and I was expecting perfection:screwy:. Well, one of the units I bought was a Marantz 2270 with nice wood cabinet. I bought it on Ebay about 2 years ago, from a seller with good reviews etc etc. It well extremely (I mean EXTREMELY well) packed. I hooked it up and it worked fine, until I turned up the volume to 1/2 way. The distortion was terrible. Actually, the 2270 sounds worse than my little 2020. It just ain't right. I had been using a Sansui 9090 with the same speakers (Polk SDA2's) and had no issues at high volume. I tried different speakers, cables, and everything else. So, off to Needle In The Haystack here in Columbus. They said that there was a bad capacitor or something, and 100.00 later and 30 days later I had it back. Now, all this time later, I hooked it up yesterday. Same problem still exsists. The point is I need to know where to get this baby actually repaired. Out of the last three things I have had repaired here, they have failed shortly after being worked on. I have $400.00 in this unit, and it is very nice. Any suggestions? I am just not comfortable with working on it my self.

Hello everyone! This is my first post here. I am a super novice in regards to the audio field. A couple of years ago, I started buying a few vintage pieces and at the same time got into some vinyl. I grew up in the 70's and 80's and I was feeling nostalgic I guess.